Quick Links
 Thailand Discount Hotels
Bangkok Hotels
Chiangmai Hotels
Hua Hin Hotels
Koh Samui Hotels
Krabi Hotels
Pattaya Hotels
Phuket Hotels
 Thailand Guide Directories
About Thailand
Arts and Humanities
Business and Services
Business to Business
Computers and Internet
Guides and Directories
Maps and Photos
News and Media
Pub and Restaurant
Real Estate
Recreation and Sports
Science and Environment
Society and Culture
Travel and Tourism
Browse By Provinces
Browse By Island
 Home > About Thailand > Subdivisions of Thailand > Regions of Thailand > Central Thailand

Central Thailand

Central Thailand is a region of Thailand, covering the broad alluvial plain of the Chao Phraya River. It
is separated from North-East Thailand (Isan) by the Phetchabun mountain range, and another mountain range separates it from Myanmar to the west. In the north it gently changes into the more hilly Northern Thailand. The area was the heartland of the Ayutthaya kingdom, and is still the dominant area of Thailand.


Central Thailand including the eastern provinces is divided into 26 provinces. Especially for statistical purposes these are divided into 4 groups 1 :

  • Bangkok and vicinity: Bangkok, Nakhon Pathom, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Samut Prakan, Samut Sakhon
  • Sub-central region: Ang Thong, Ayutthaya, Chainat, Lopburi, Saraburi, Singburi
  • Western region: Kanchanaburi, Phetchaburi, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Ratchaburi, Samut Songkhram, Suphanburi
  • Eastern region: Chachoengsao, Chanthaburi, Chonburi, Nakhon Nayok, Rayong, Prachinburi, Srakaeo, Trat

The eastern region is sometimes listed as a separate region destinct from central Thailand - sometimes only the four coastal provinces, sometimes the above list excluding Nakhon Nayok. None of these regions are actually administrative subdivision, they are only geographical or statistical groupings.

Copyright © 2003 Thailand Gateway, All Rights Reserved.
Any question or comment, please contact us